TURNING FOR THE TROOPS

I make sawdust. Mounds and mounds of sawdust.

And what does this mean to a wood turner?

It means I am working on something. Whether it is to hone my technique, practice something new, or create something to sell, I am working.

It means I occasionally have to take time to sweep my work area and vacuum up the sawdust.

This week has found me working on something AND cleaning up the sawdust.

I belong to the Duck River Wood Turners. Our club president asked for volunteers to turn pens to send to the military troops overseas. Each volunteer is to turn ten pens.

DSC02146

DSC02148

DSC02147

After creating each pen’s shape, I finished them with one coat of Myland’s High Friction Polish, and then applied three coats of lacquer.

These are the finished pens.

PENS PIC FOR BLOG

Thank you to all of you who have served, or are serving, in one of the branches of our military.

Leave a Reply

